Home African CEOs Profiles AFCON 2019: $14.2m Up for Grabs!
Profiles - Tech Analysis - June 21, 2019

AFCON 2019: $14.2m Up for Grabs!

The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) 2019, also known as the Total 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, the 32nd edition of the African football tournament and the biennial international men’s football championship of Africa organised by the Confederation of African Football is set to commence.

The 2019 AFCON men’s tournament which will be hosted by Egypt starting June 21, is offering a mouth-watering $14.2 million prize money in total for all the participants.

24 teams will be featuring in the biggest African football competition for the first time, which will see to an assemblage of the continent’s finest players and teams slugging it out for the chance to play in the AFCON 2019 final slated for July 19 at the Cairo International Stadium where the trophy, the prize money will be claimed by the winners.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) had confirmed in April 2019 that a total of $14.2 million would be split between the best eight teams at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in the form of prize money.

Being the champions of the Africa Cup of Nations remain the primary goal of participating countries not just for the bragging rights that accompanies such achievement, but for the huge financial benefit as well.

In the breakdown to the total sum, if a team gets knocked out from the quarter-final, such a country will be rewarded with $800,000 while losing semi-finalists who contest the third-place play-off will share $4m, with each getting $2m.

AFCON 2019 Prize Money in USD:

Quarter-finalists $800,000 $3.2m
Fourth place $2m $2m
Third place $2m $2m
Runners-up $2.5m $2.5m
Winners $4.5m $4.5m
TOTAL $14.2m

The two last finalists will get $7 million total, which will be shared by the winning sides and the runner up – they both get $4.5m and $2.5m respectively.

The CAF Africa Cup of Nations, sanctioned by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) and was first held in 1957. Since 1968, it has been held every two years. The title holders at the time of a FIFA Confederations Cup qualify for that competition.

Egypt is the most successful nation in the cup’s history, winning the tournament a record of seven times (including when Egypt was known as the United Arab Republic between 1958 and 1961).

Also Read: Mohamed Salah threatens to quit Liverpool over Nabil Fekir

Check Also

Appeal Court Dismisses PDP’s Suit Against Tinubu, Shettima

The Court of Appeal in Abuja has dismissed an appeal by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)…