Bola Tinubu: 7 Possible Personalities on His Ministerial List
Home News Politics Bola Tinubu: 7 Possible Personalities on His Ministerial List
Politics - July 28, 2023

Bola Tinubu: 7 Possible Personalities on His Ministerial List

President Bola Tinubu’s long-anticipated ministerial list features 7 female nominees, 6 former lawmakers, 4 former governors, 1 head of a federal agency, some serving lawmakers, and presidential advisers.

The ministerial list was read by the President of the Senate, at the plenary on Thursday. This development comes as Tinubu submitted the names in line with the requirement of the 1999 constitution.

While we wait for the screening of the nominees by the Senate let’s examine 7 personalities on the list. Let’s get started.

Nasir El Rufai

El Rufai has been in the Nigerian government since 1998. The Nigerian politician began his political career by serving as an economic advisor under the Former military head of state, General Abdulsalami Abubakar Badaru. He later served as the director of the Bureau of Public Enterprises, and the secretary of the National Council of Privatisation under the administration of President Olusegun Obasanjo.

El Rufai was appointed the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory in 2003 by Obasanjo. Years later, he declared his campaign for Governor of Kaduna State. He won the elections and was a two-time serving governor of the state. 

Dave Umahi

Umahi is the current senator representing Ebonyi South Senatorial District. He is also the Immediate past governor of Ebonyi State. Umahi who defected from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP to the All Progressive Congress, APC in 2020 declared his intention to run for the office of the president in 2022. After losing the APC presidential ticket to Tinubu, he fixed his eyes on the seat of the President of the Senate. He however later revealed that Tinubu urged him to step down for Godswill Akpabio.

Nyesom Wike

Wike is one of PDP’s aggrieved G5 governors who supported Tinubu during the 2023 elections. He reportedly ensured that Tinubu garnered large votes from Rivers State. Wike who has repeatedly called on Nigerians to support Tinubu said, “I am confident that he has what it takes to turn Nigeria around.”

Wike will on Monday be screened by the Senate as he reels out his blueprints for the country.

Doris Uzoka

Doris is one of the Seven female nominees on Tinubu’s ministerial list. She is a medical doctor that holds a CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) charter. 

As a specialist in Financial Risk Management and Portfolio Management, Doris served as a one-time General Manager of Zenith Bank Plc. She later became the youngest commissioner for Finance and coordinating economy, under Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodinma.

Abubakar Kyari

Kyari is a former senator who represented Borno North Senatorial District until he resigned in April 2022. He is currently the acting national chairman of the ruling APC.

Kyari has a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from Webster University St.Louis Missouri USA. He is the son of the Late Brigadier Abba Kyari- a former military administrator to North Central(1967-1975).

Wale Edun

Wale Edun served as the Honorable Commissioner for Finance in Lagos State for two unprecedented terms (1999-2007) during Tinubu’s tenure. 

He is the founder of Denham Management Limited, the Chairman of Livewell Initiative, a health non-governmental organisation (NGO), and the manager of Sisters Unite for Children, an NGO focused on helping children in need. 

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Ondo Assembly Initiates Impeachment: Deputy Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa Faces Gross Misconduct Charges

The Ondo State House of Assembly has plunged into a significant political development, dir…