Lagos Assembly Rejects 17 Cabinet Nominees Sent By Sanwo-Olu
Home News Lagos Assembly Rejects 17 Cabinet Nominees Sent By Sanwo-Olu
News - August 24, 2023

Lagos Assembly Rejects 17 Cabinet Nominees Sent By Sanwo-Olu

The Lagos State House of Assembly Yesterday, officially approved the appointments of 22 individuals from the pool of 39 cabinet nominees put forth by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu. These nominees had undergone a thorough screening process led by the ad-hoc committee under the guidance of the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed. 

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over the session, confirmed the selections, highlighting the meticulous and comprehensive nature of the evaluation process.

In a communication issued by his Media Aide, Eromosele Ebhomele, the Speaker commended the committee for its efficiency and encouraged the approved nominees to uphold the understanding that their role is to serve the populace of the State, rather than personal interests.

Furthermore, he assured that the House’s dedication to the state’s welfare would persist, noting that the affirmation occurred via a vocal agreement as Dr. Obasa individually presented the nominees’ names.

Nonetheless, the legislators declined 17 of the nominated candidates.

Confirmed lists by the legislators

The list of those who have been confirmed includes Hon. Layode Ibrahim, Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dr. Dolapo Fasawe, Hon. Bola Olumegbon, Mr. Idris Aregbe, Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya, Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai, Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, Engr. Abiola Olowu, Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya, Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu,

Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN, Mr. Tunbosun Alake, Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde, Dr. Adekunle Olayinka, Dr. Jide Babatunde, Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo, Mr. Tokunbo Wahab, Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun, Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo.

The disapproved lists

On the other hand, those who did not receive confirmation from the House are Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo, Prof. Akin Abayomi, Mr. Yomi Oluyomi, Mrs. Folashade Ambrose, Ms. Barakat Bakare, Mr. Gbenga Omotosho, Engr. Olalere Odusote, Dr. Rotimi Fashola, Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada, Mr. Sam Egube, Mr. Olalekan Fatodu, Mrs. Solape Hammond, Mr. Mosopefolu George, Engr. Aramide Adeyoye, Mr. Seun Osiyemi, Mr. Rotimi Ogunwuyi, Dr. Olumide Oluyinka.

Reasons for the rejected lists

While no explicit reasons were provided for their disapproval, Hon. Mojeed Fatai, who presented the results of the screening process to the House, refrained from discussing the reasons for rejecting the commissioner nominees. These nominees had previously held positions in Governor Sanwo-Olu’s inaugural cabinet and were widely acknowledged for their effective performance in their respective ministries.

It’s worth recalling that a group of leaders from the Muslim community in Lagos recently organized a protest at the State House of Assembly. The aim of the protest was to express their opposition to the list of 39 commissioner nominees introduced by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for consideration by the Assembly.

They said the list was unfair to people who follow the Islamic faith in the state. They wanted the list to be looked at again carefully.

The Muslim community, under the leadership of President and esteemed elder Prof. Tajudeen Gbadamosi, conveyed their grievances within the premises of the House of Assembly during the protest. Gbadamosi asserted that the compilation of names by the governor amounted to unjust differentiation against Muslims in the state.

Subsequently, Gbadamosi formally submitted a petition to Speaker Mudashiru Obasa, urging an exhaustive reconsideration of the list.

Leave a Reply

Check Also

How African Billionaires Grow their Money Exponentially

In Africa’s business landscape, there is a select group of individuals who have achi…